This project currently is waiting for a game developer with some time at hand. See this thread.

View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun 23. Sep 2018, 20:11

Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
 This is just GREAT !!! 
Passenger

Transarctica is one of my favorite old games..
Actually I had the idea of making a remake myself, but being no artist whatsoever I resigned...

However I am an experienced C++ coder, and I wrote some games in the past.. and still do as a hobby..
So If I can help in any way, please let me know.

some tips:

- C++ is FAST ! and there are a lot of good and free libs for game programming

- consider using the great ALLEGRO 5 game programming lib...
it has everything you could possibly ever need.. sprites, sound, music, events, font, primitives, pathmanager, compression, multithreading, 2D, 3D you name it

- building a fast tile engine with C++ and Allegro is a piece of cake, I do have code for this handy ( and a lot of "in the field tested" game engine code too)

yours sincerely
Edwin Martens

fotograaf@edwinmartens.nl

Wed 4. Dec 2013, 09:13
Contributor

As far as I know the game is developed in Java (correct me if I'm wrong @ kone ;))

Thu 5. Dec 2013, 21:39
Profile ICQ
Passenger

Java is evil :twisted:

Fri 6. Dec 2013, 10:32
Administrator

Edwin wrote:
Java is evil :twisted:

A very special warm welcome to the forums, my new best friend. :D :lol:
(I didn't write to the forums for some time now, sorry.)

Your suggestion and your offer is superb!
The only problem is that I'am using Python right now but on the other hand I'm not really that far in development.
(Shame on me!)

As I see it we have the following options since we are not on the same coding-side:
  • 1. Engine in C++: Go ahead and develop as you please
    We will try to get stuff ready which you can use.
    You can ask us about what we think you should do if you have questions but in the end it would be your development.