This project currently is waiting for a game developer with some time at hand. See this thread.

View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Tue 24. Apr 2018, 16:23



Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 unknown screenshot 
Author Message
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Sat 16. Mar 2013, 18:24
Posts: 410
Location: Germany
As I was thinking about Transarctica the original game some days ago I thought about the box scan in which a screenshot was made which I never encountered in-game.
Does anybody knows if you could actually reach this screen in the original game?
Which actions would you assign to this screen?
Maybe it's something they removed later?

See box-scan top left.


Attachments:
unknown_screenshot.jpg
unknown_screenshot.jpg [ 156.49 KiB | Viewed 5822 times ]

_________________
'Person who say it cannot be done should not interrupt person doing it.' --Chinese Proverb
Fri 29. Mar 2013, 08:36
Profile WWW
Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sun 17. Mar 2013, 11:31
Posts: 424
Location: Hajdúszoboszló. Hungary
Indeed a developers screenshot as you can see on the lower left that the train had 0000 Lignite, Anthracite and Speed! Not to mention the icons of the locomotive and the tender, together with the locomotive screen switcher icon, that isn't the transarctica just a regular locomotive!

Also showing the animation of the missile launch. (we need to extract this as well...)

As of the top picture I absolutely do not know what those texts are meaning!
Maybe 8th wagon and weights 65tons


Fri 29. Mar 2013, 10:13
Profile WWW
Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sun 17. Mar 2013, 11:31
Posts: 424
Location: Hajdúszoboszló. Hungary
Here is the Complete Screenshot:

http://ilarge.listal.com/image/512139/9 ... -cover.jpg
Image

You can notice it was from 1992. So either an early version of the game or a pre release!

Different screen names for town!
Only 1 Boilerman (or coaler I tend to call them)
Different map!!!
Mammoth groups which looks like either nomads or our attack groups!


Fri 29. Mar 2013, 11:31
Profile WWW
Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sun 17. Mar 2013, 11:31
Posts: 424
Location: Hajdúszoboszló. Hungary
This boxcover or magazine article is troubling!
The Little map shows the final game map, but that gamescreen with the rails can nowhere to be found on it.
I've tried to locate it's position and the only similar rail line with overpasses are near where you start the game, the In Salah-Tunis-Tibesti Region!

This is showing how it looked like that time that area:
Image

As you can see many rail overlap and the turn which looks like were re directed to a tunnel but some intersection and turns are not overlapping

Now this one showing the same area just that region is flipped horizontally
Image

This is a viable variation too!!! Some intersections overlap as well as turns.

Very Weird!!!


Sun 7. Apr 2013, 17:17
Profile WWW
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Sat 16. Mar 2013, 18:24
Posts: 410
Location: Germany
Wow! I'll call you Sherlock from now on. :D
Big changes... hmhm.

I guess they amended the map after some test players complained. :D

_________________
'Person who say it cannot be done should not interrupt person doing it.' --Chinese Proverb


Mon 8. Apr 2013, 18:31
Profile WWW
Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sun 17. Mar 2013, 11:31
Posts: 424
Location: Hajdúszoboszló. Hungary
Maybe we should ask the developers about this mystery as well?


Wed 4. Sep 2013, 11:51
Profile WWW
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Sat 16. Mar 2013, 18:24
Posts: 410
Location: Germany
TZoli wrote:
Maybe we should ask the developers about this mystery as well?


Good Idea!
I have added this question and a link to this thread in our 'questions to the original devs' thread.

I had the idea that maybe there is another 'cheat' - to enter a smaller world and to unlock other gui elements to quickly be able to test things?

_________________
'Person who say it cannot be done should not interrupt person doing it.' --Chinese Proverb


Wed 4. Sep 2013, 13:52
Profile WWW
Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sun 17. Mar 2013, 11:31
Posts: 424
Location: Hajdúszoboszló. Hungary
konemaster wrote:
TZoli wrote:
Maybe we should ask the developers about this mystery as well?


Good Idea!
I have added this question and a link to this thread in our 'questions to the original devs' thread.

I had the idea that maybe there is another 'cheat' - to enter a smaller world and to unlock other gui elements to quickly be able to test things?


Don't know, but what is strange that the cheat which gives you a super train almost finished game (Super?? Blah, still got no chance against the Minotaur...) the Aral lake bridge stays closed!!! I mean you can travel on it freely on any hour!


Wed 4. Sep 2013, 15:26
Profile WWW
Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sun 17. Mar 2013, 11:31
Posts: 424
Location: Hajdúszoboszló. Hungary
Let me show you guys something more weird!
A german magazine about the game's pre-release around from 1992:

Image
Note the Different Transarctica locomotive!
Another one:
Image

The tech tree is from a different game


Tue 6. Jan 2015, 08:29
Profile WWW
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Sat 16. Mar 2013, 18:24
Posts: 410
Location: Germany
This is most interesting!
Also those horns (=funnels) look kinda sexy. :D

_________________
'Person who say it cannot be done should not interrupt person doing it.' --Chinese Proverb


Tue 6. Jan 2015, 12:16
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 11 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software for PTF.